Running faster… (shorter)

When I started this blog, I was starting to run again after quite a long break, and I was training to run a marathon. Therefore, everything was about gradually increasing distance, as well as (just) getting back to running.

I was trying to run faster as well, but I was focussing on maintaining it over a longer dsitance, hence Running faster (longer)

I’ve had a bit of a year, but am back running again now.

This morning was my second run back. My first run back was 2 shuffling, slow miles on my own.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 23.37.40

This morning, I did two brisk miles with my friend Sarah.

Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 09.32.25.png

Two miles is not a big distance for a run, but I don’t care. I care more that I maintained a good pace, that I enjoyed it, and that I felt fine afterwards. In fact, I felt really good afterwards. I felt completely set up for the day.

Why run otherwise?….

New aims

I’m not training for a marathon any more. I just want to run. I have enough friends who run to make it a social thing. The furthest I’m going to “race” would be a Half Marathon. I am going to concentrate on (higher) speed over (shorter) distances. This will be better (I think) for my fitness, my mental well-being and my weight.

So this time, I’m running faster… shorter.

 

2 thoughts on “Running faster… (shorter)

  1. I agree with your notion about speed work and fitness. Endurance is great, but when I am lifting and doing shorter but faster interval workouts, I think I achieve my best level of fitness (and not to mention my strongest feeling and looking body!). Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes- I think the fittest I’ve ever been is when I used to live in the South West and train in Cornwall. It was so hilly! Even with a shorter run, it pushed me more, and overall I became fitter. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

