Freethorpe 10 mile (race)

This was my first race since the Great Yarmouth 10K in October. I was hoping to get under 1.40. Well… I was secretly hoping to get down to about 1.35….

I finished in 1.35.26.

I have mixed feelings about this. I am proud. And I am pleased that I am obviously getting fitter. I ran the first 10K of this race in (basically) the same time it took me to run the October 10K, but that race felt tougher than the same distance/pace felt today. So that’s positive.

But… it’s really difficult to feel happy about it when, ultimately I do a quick calculation and think: so that would be a Half Marathon in… 2.05 ish? In the back of my mind, I know that’s a respectable time, but it’s slower than I “used to” run a half marathon.

Like… really Niki… who are you trying to kid?? The last time you did a half marathon at the pace you’re thinking of was 13 years ago (1.52). And you’ve done slower ones (before and after that)….

So I need to focus on the here and now. Focus on the achievement that it is. Focus on how it shows progress. Focus on how I’m enjoying it. Focus on how I’m proud of it.

My splits are interesting. I was floating along quite happily at about 9.30/mile for the first 5 or 6 miles. But I got to 7 miles, and it felt tough.

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 15.42.34

Splits- thanks Garmin/ Strava- you let the geek in me run free….

So… I just need to get some more miles in my legs. I need to extend my long runs. But I knew this! I will do this.

It was a lovely friendly race. I chatted to a few people before we set off, and I always found people to run with, either silently or chatting. I also bumped into some of the ladies from the club I ran with last summer, which was really nice. One of them gave me some jelly babies, as I’d forgotten to take any.

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 19.54.31

My hamstring was sore at the end. The same one that’s been just bubbling under for over a year now…. I guess I just have to keep at it with the roller.

Onwards and upwards…. Colchester Half Marathon on 13th March, Bungay Half Marathon 17th April, Edinburgh marathon 29th May!

6 thoughts on “Freethorpe 10 mile (race)

Leave a Reply

