Landmark run

When I first started running again, I had a few interim goals in my head, as well as the long-term marathon goal (for May this year).

Primarily, I wanted to get to the point where I was enjoying running, and it wasn’t a chore any more. I wrote about that here.

j10

Before the pier burnt down.

And there were various speed and distance landmarks that I wanted to reach (like my 10K back in October).

But one definite goal I had in my head was to be able to run around Whitlingham Broad again. This was a run I did when J first moved to Norwich, and I came up to visit him. It was at a time when I was still quite fit, we had no kids to juggle around, and we just went out when we wanted to. More importantly, we sometimes ran *together*, which we never do now. This is partly because J is so much faster than me! But it’s also because our life is basically lived in shifts right now. I’m finally at the stage where I can get out and do things again (run, swim, go out with friends, lie in at weekends); but if I go out, J stays in to look after the kids. And vice versa.

whit broad

Whitlingham Broad

Today, I wanted to run 10 miles. And this meant I could run to Whitlingham, and run round both the broads.

I planned the route, and arranged a time that would fit in with the family. I went to bed early. I got excited. I felt nervous. I laid out everything I’d need. I wrote directions for myself (so I wouldn’t get lost).

I had a blast!

I ran the 10 miles without stopping. Even on the “hills” (I’m in Norfolk- it’s never hilly!).  I’ve taken James’s advice and signed up to Strava, so I can now see my splits. You can see where the muddy bit was!

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 15.35.10

My splts. Thanks, Strava!

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 15.33.45

Mile 6 (the muddy, gloopy, slowest bit!). Thanks again, Strava!

I had wanted to run this route because I remembered running it with J, but as I ran along, I remembered that I’d also spent a day here with my NCT group when my eldest son was a few months old. We’d all got caught out by the rain and had to dash home. It feels like no time ago, and a lifetime ago at the same time.

10399675_148888695729_4724588_n

Dashing home when the rain came. Broad in the background.

So this was a landmark run. My first 10-miler on my way to the marathon. And my first run around a route I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. I didn’t stop. I didn’t walk. And the pace was okay for me.

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 15.35.22

I had an unintentionally long warm-down, because I got home to find everyone was out (F was doing the Junior Parkrun). I’d remembered to take my phone on my run; and some emergency money and water. But I’d forgotten to take my front door key! So I walked to the park to meet everyone, and walked home with M on my shoulders (an extra couple of miles to stretch and flush out my legs).

I’ve felt fine all day (I also cycled to Waitrose and back earlier with the kids), but I’m tired now. Hopefully this is the beginning of some decent long runs now…

10 thoughts on “Landmark run

  1. Great run and splits!! Glad you got a chance to check out Strava…it’s worked well for me and Paula so far, will be interested to get your take once you’ve had a chance to log a few workouts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thank you 🙂 yes… i’m still finding my way round it, but i like the splits thing already! and the way it shows you the bit of your route that each split corresponds with. appeals to the obsessive geek in me… 😉

      Like

  2. Great running lovely!

    I’m a Strava user too and use it synced to my garmin forerunner. I like it, but find that it only goes to the nearest 0.1 of a mile, which is the only irritating thing if I am running a 5k or 10k!

    Like

Leave a Reply

