Streaks and plans. And (not) being a diet bore.

Streaks

There seem to be a few running streaks going on in the blogs I’m reading right now. I’m not doing one, but I’m am trying to run 5 miles every other day over the holiday. This will mean running tomorrow (Christmas day).

This might seem a bit obsessive! Shouldn’t I be there with the kids in the morning as they open their stockings?

Fortunately, we’ve already opened the majority of our presents, as we stick with German traditions, and the Weinachtsmann comes along on Christmas Eve. Luckily for the kids, (English) Father Christmas will also stop by tonight, and fill the kids’ stockings with little bits and pieces, but the main excitement has already passed, and the main presents have beenopened, squealed over, and played with….

Also… I actually refuse to feel guilty for going our running in the morning, as J will still go off at 9am and do the Parkrun as usual! He actually said to me “Don’t you want to be there in the morning?” when I said I’d be running. Erm….

Anyway! I’ve run 5 miles twice this week. On Monday, it was a joy. On Wednesday, it was a struggle for the first 3 miles, before I found a second wind, and flew round the final 2 miles. We’ll see how tomorrow feels after the excitement of today (and a few glasses of fizz!).

Diet bore

The great news is that I have lost 8kg (yes… 8kg!) since I started running. I weighed myself at the Sportspark on Monday after taking the boys swimming. I actually nearly cheered aloud when the little printed slip came out. I messaged my running buddies straight away to let them know.

That is all fine. And I feel really proud and happy.

The next bit isn’t!

I also messaged them when I got back from my run on Wednesday. We often message each other when we’ve run, even if we’ve gone out alone. We all encourage each other.

But this is what I said:

yay. did it. 5 miles. god! was tough at first, though. first mile a total struggle. next 2 miles a bit better. then i had a second wind and enjoyed the final 2 miles πŸ™‚ supposed to be fasting today, and J’s baked the most delicious looking bread ever….hmmmm…. argh! turning into a diet bore. must stop! anyway. glad about the run :-)”

Yes. I mustn’t turn into a diet bore! If I choose to eat less, and if I sometimes choose to eat nothing at all for a while (if I’m fasting) then that is fine. But I am not going to go on about it. I am very careful not to let the kids know what I’m doing. Not to make a thing of it. If I choose not to eat breakfast, I still sit with them and have a coffee. I don’t think they even notice I’m not eating, to be honest. And I try and arrange things so that, if I’m missing dinner, it’s on a night when I’m not in anyway (like when I go swimming).

I do this because I don’t want the kids growing up with any attitude to food except that they should eat healthily and enjoy everything (in moderation). And I do it because I don’t want to become a diet bore.

Having said that… if I’m just allowed to bore on for a few more moments…. I am SO GLAD I started getting my eating under control a few weeks before Christmas! I’ve not found it difficult to just enjoy stuff without pigging out too much. Well… not as much as I would do usually. I mean… I did have a huuuuuuge cheese fondu tonight and “some” fizz (!). And I really enjoyed it! But that is all. And, in general, I’ve been fairly controlled. I think that’s how the intermittent fasting helps me, as much as anything: it reminds me how little I actually “need” to eat each day!

So…

Plans

Firstly, I have been reminded recently, as I’ve started to do longer runs, that I love listening to “talk” as I run. I like comedy podcasts. Or humorous ones. My current favorite is No such thing as a fish but I also like Answer me this and my absolute favourite is The news quiz, but it’s only half and hour long, and not on all the time…

This has given me an idea. I’m going to record my blog posts that I’ve been writing here, so I can listen to them as I run the marathon next year. I’m not actually sure if this is a wacky idea, a narcissistic idea or… what. I’m hoping it’ll be really nice to trip down memory lane and to re-live my “journey” to the marathon as I run it… but… who knows…

To be honest, it doesn’t matter, because I can always just skip it and listen to something else instead if it makes me cringe!

Secondly, I am going to do a Doodle, and ask friends to run bits of my “long runs” with me in the run up to the marathon. I realise they won’t be able to do the full runs with me, but if I could meet up with someone for the final 6 miles (for example) or if someone could come round with me on a bike… that’d be amazing!

Again… it might be a silly idea. It might not work. But it’s worth a try…

Merry Christmas everyone! πŸ™‚

 

7 thoughts on “Streaks and plans. And (not) being a diet bore.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ Hope you had a lovely day. Yes- the streak totally wasn’t planned. It’s just what I appear to be doing… so I thought I’d go with it πŸ™‚ I won’t be worried if I “break” it, but I’m enjoying it so far…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Darlene & I often meet up for long runs where she’s done several miles (or more) before we meet up. She runs really fast by herself and then I slow her down. πŸ™‚

    Listening to your blog does sound kind of wacky, I admit, but hey, if it works for you, that’s all that’s important.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agree. I think it’s weird… and it turns out I won’t be able to do it anywa, as headphones aren’t allowed for the race! Best laid plans and all that.. but I think I might still do it and use if for my long and painful 20 milers in the lead up…

      Like

Leave a Reply

