Bit of a pants week…

…but the only way is up, right?

I was off work most of last week with sick children. I think I must have been a bit under the weather, too, as I didn’t actually resent having to stay in bed for two days while M slept on me.

So I didn’t run. Or cycle. Or do much really.

Then, on Thursday night, I did the swim session. To be honest, I was on the verge of chickening out of it, as I was convinced I was ill (or had been ill) and I didn’t want to make it worse. But I’d arranged a lift from Vanessa, and she told me I had no choice and had to go!

As usual, I was really glad I went, although I was evidently a bit below par. I got out after 40 minutes when my limbs stopped working. But before this, I’d really been enjoying it.

I eventually ran on Saturday. I had the chance to do Parkrun, as J didn’t want to do it. It was a grim day: cold, windy, rainy. But I had a secret ambition to run it in under 27 minutes, as I’d run the first 5K of my recent 10K in 27 and a half mins.

But my legs felt like lead, and it took me 28 and a half minutes! My aims went from “finish in under 27 minutes” to “don’t start walking” and “just finish”. It was tough.

Sunday, I ran with Kate. It was supposed to be 8.5 miles, but it was really cold and wet, and I suddenly got hungry after 6 miles, lost all energy, and had to walk home.

So a really depressing week, really. And just to add to the mix, my weight has gone up. I’m back to -4kg. How crap is that??

But I arranged to run with Sarah this morning, and it was just the tonic I needed.

It didn’t start well. M is still ill, and I consequently didn’t get much sleep last night. When my alarm went off (at 5.45am) I thought I couldn’t get up, let alone run. But I dragged myself out there.

I’d told Sarah the day before that I needed to go “fast” for 5 miles. Aiming for 9 and a half minute miles.

I ran to meet her. She took me on my word. She really pushed me. I needed to be pushed, or I probably would’ve given up!

I ran for about a mile to meet her and a couple of miles afterwards. Spot the section below where I’m running with her!

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 07.04.44

 

 

4 thoughts on “Bit of a pants week…

Leave a Reply

