Slowing down (quick update)

Still following that Asics plan for my 10 mile race in January. This week, I’m running slowly while building up mileage. Didn’t quite manage to slow down to a 12.40 pace, but basically did the distance.

Garmin summary from this morning's run.

Garmin summary from this morning’s run.

I managed to keep the pace slow, though. And any time I felt just the slightest bit of strain in my legs, I pulled right back. I seemed to get a bit overexcited going through the park on the way home (you can see my pace and HR increasing for a bit at the end). But other than that, HR is low throughout. If anything, I found it a bit dull, if I’m honest, but I just kept telling myself that I don’t want to get injured.

Pace and HR summary from this morning's run. Love a good graph...

Pace and HR summary from this morning’s run. Love a good graph…

But I do want to build up my mileage. And I know I can only do that by going slow for a while. Train slow, run fast and all that…

The nice thing about going slower is that I just listen to wahtever comes on to my iPod. This morning, as I ran through the park, I sensed that I was going too fast. Then Witchy Tai To came on, and it helped me to calm right down and just enjoy where I was.

I love this song. It reminds me of long days spent surfing. Coming out of the water salty, wet, exhausted, happy….

waiting for a wave with my sister

waiting for a wave with my sister

A problem with all this running is that J has finally objected to being woken up at silly o’ clock when my alarm goes off for morning runs. Can’t say either of us reacted that well. He was grumpy, I was snappy. It’s not exactly by choice that I’m running at this time. I’m just having to juggle work and family….. And it was he that entered me for the marathon! He must’ve known I was going to have to train for it… But we obviously have to do something that works for everyone.

compromise, juggling, motivation, slowing down, yoga, early mornings, friends, ipods…. running…

15 thoughts on “Slowing down (quick update)

  1. I used to struggle with slowing down on my runs but I look forward to running easy now! It’s very relaxing and takes a lot of pressure off. I’m going to follow the Hansons plan for my spring marathon training and though there are some hardcore key workouts, the secondary emphasis is on running slowly. I see a lot of benefit from it. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s like the yin yoga isn’t it? You know you it’ll, but it’s a struggle at first. It makes me realise how much of what I do is about pushing myself and adreniline… or something. I think the slowing down will be good for me, in general. Not just for the running! And yes… when I relaxed, I really enjoyed it 🙂 Good luck with your training! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good job on slowing down! I know how hard it is for you to do that, but yes, you must think of being injury-free first and foremost. If you’re injured, you can’t run period. And that’s a really interesting song. It does kind of remind you of carefree surf days, doesn’t it! I like all the handbells played in the background! Well done Niki!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thanks 🙂 and yes. I love it. And I miss surfing…! But yes- you’re so right. Slowing down is so good for you, and something I do too seldom. And I know one of the biggest risks with running a marathon is getting injured… argh… let’s hope that doesn’t happen…!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I struggle to force myself to run slower than target race pace but it is important especially on those longer runs. On the weekly long run though, I usually sprinkle in a marathon race pace mile every third mile just to mix it up!

    Like

  4. Ha! I struggle with running faster. Slow, I’m your gal. No problem. Running the speed your running? That’s fast for me & it’s an effort & I totally don’t know why that is. It’s frustrating.

    I’ve always gotten up before my husband, but I don’t use an alarm. My vivoactive, which I do set for the earlier group runs in the summer, just vibrates on my wrist so that works for us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have found a similar solution! A vibrating wrist thingy that wakes you up. A “silent alarm clock”. I’ll just have to make sure my arm is nowhere near my husband!! And yes… we all have a different natural pace. That’s why I love running: I only ever “race” myself! I just try and do a bit better than last time, or reach the next goal. That’s all. No competition…. (not with anyone else, anyway!)

      Like

  5. I love the fact that your slow pace is my ‘OMG I’m going to die now’ pace. I actually find that helpful when I am plodding along dragging my backside up a little slope I can just think – hey, no effort here to go slow, I can do that all on my own! Joking aside though, looking back at pace helps me and your post prompted me to do that – my now normal pace for my 45 minute runs is around 12 minutes per mile. If I look back over the weeks though that used to be my fast pace and my fast pace of 11 minutes used to be purely aspirational. Today I even managed just under 14 minutes per mile on hills and with a short stop to take a couple of pictures half way. I can get obsessive about pace and not going fast enough… I’m learning to just trust in the process. I hope the slowing down works for you – it all sounds sensible and I look forward to hearing how you get on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! That’s a huge improvment! Well done. Also… remember I am running in Norfolk, whereas you’re running in Yorkshire 😉 My runs are basically flat. Stick a hill in, or any kind of gradient, and I do slow down… But that’s not the point. The point is that we run at the pace that’s right for us. If I compared myself to my husband (for example) I’d give up tomorrow! I remember when I came back a few weeks ago from a run with friends, absolutely bubbling over with excitement because it appeared that I’d done 10K in less than 65 minutes…. when I told him, he honestly looked so confused! He didn’t know whether to comisterate, or whether he was supposed to be congratulating me!! 🙂 Luckily, he got the message after that, and said “well done” straight away when I rang him up to tell him about my 10K race time. I am quite a competitive person. But, with running, because I know I’m never going to be at the front, I’m only ever competitive with myself. I’ve loved reading all the blogs about running. People running ultra marathons at a pace that would knacker me after a few yards… and people feeling so (rightly) proud for completing a couch to 5K. It’s just great we’re all doing it…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha – yes flat can be tricky round here. We tend to head for the canal for long runs – that’s flat. And I think what you say about running at pace right for you is so so sensible! I get competitive too but I need to learn to focus that much more on myself rather than worrying about what other people are doing!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Actually… thinking about it… I’m not saying that I never worry, or compare myself to others… 😉 but…. I think for me, it’s something that I love doing, but I’ll never be any “good” at (I mean.. not in the same way I was with academic stuff or music…. etc…) so actually, it’s nice for the pressure to be purely self-generated. If that makes sense?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes it does. I think I compare myself to others in the sense of ‘I’m so rubbish at this’ and actually I worry about being respectable… I forget that I do more than most and any running is better than no running!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

