Make a new plan, Stan

I have a plan!

Sarah (who supported me in the race last week) suggested I try an Asics plan. You register with the site (free), enter some goals and times, and it comes back with a plan for you.

Mine looks a bit like this:

Asics plan for 10 miler in January

Asics plan for 10 miler in January

The main thing, for me, is that it’s telling me to sloooooow down, but to run for longer. So tonight, I went out to do my 3 mile jog. It said 12.40 pace. I honestly couldn’t have run at that pace. I walk at about 4mph, so I would’ve been tripping over my feet. But I just ran at a really relaxed pace. My “warming up” pace. Arms loose, hands unclenched, feeling totally easy and comfortable. Every time I felt myself begin to push a little, I forced myself to slow down and take it easy.

This was a new kind of run for me, and I really enjoyed it. Firstly, it was good to have “permission” to run slowly. I realise this is a good thing to do sometimes. I just needed someone to tell me when to do it.

But also, because I wasn’t worrying about keeping to a particular pace, I just listened to whatever came onto my iPod. It took me through its playlist of “90s songs” (being a child of that era….). At one point I was running to Radiohead and Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Bands that I love, but which I don’t usually listen to when I run, because the “cadence” is wrong for me.

It was just a lovely lovely run.

Tomorrow, I have to do 3 miles. Again at this relaxed pace. But that’s okay. I’m followin g a plan.There is a reason for doing this. I shall go with it, and enjoy it.

You just slip out the back, Jack
Make a new plan, Stan
You don’t need to be coy, Roy
Just get yourself free……

3 thoughts on “Make a new plan, Stan

  1. Plan looks great…I used an online last year though I don’t think it was free but it came up with some great run workouts that I still incorporate into my current plans. Enjoy!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

