A week to hold your loved ones close

This has been a sad and difficult week, as a friend died suddenly at the weekend. This is not the time or place to talk about it, except to say that, as if I needed reminding, I have been holding my children, and feeling grateful, and appreciating my time with them.

It has also been tough because I was ill. And J has been away again, at a time when we both could’ve done with being together (J had known this friend for a long time, and they’d done a lot together).

And work has been intense. By the time I got to Tuesday, I was sat here with a huge “to-do” list, but I was struggliing to get going on anything.

Finally, yesterday, I managed to get out for a run. Mum (who’s staying with me) looked after M while I went out. It was a beautiful sunny day. I ran up to the park, looped round it, ran across to the University, down along the Broad, back up to Cringleford, and home.

I did a “musical fartlek”, and my pace was good. As ever, I can only work out my average pace after the fact, but it looks like:

I did the first 5K in 28.15 (which I’m feeling great about! and I want to do a Parkrun at one point to see if I can equal my best time for it, which is 26 minutes plus something).

I paused briefly again after 4miles, and it had been just under 38 mins (which, again, I’m happy with, as my pace is obviously ducking under the 10min/ mile mark).

The whole run was 4 and a half miles, and I struggled on the last bit, as it was uphill… but managed to complete it in just under 43 minutes.

I was then lucky to be able to do a really long stretching/ yoga session in the garden, soaking up the sun, as mum played around me with M. It was just the most lovely morning.

I’m hoping to run with friends tomorrow, and make it a slightly longer one. Then, at one point, I need to start following some kind of plan for the marathon.

Until then, I’ll continue to enjoy the release and the strength that running brings. And I’ll hold my loved ones close….

 

4 thoughts on “A week to hold your loved ones close

  1. I am so sorry for your loss… I know how you feel. I am currently nursing my foot.. again.. and my running status is TBD at the minute so I don’t even have that. Thankfully I still have my other big passion, writing. Hang in there, this will get better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry Niki. You have had one awful week. But it sounds like you’re trying to pick back up which is good. Your time for your run was fabulous! Good job! I’m happy you have your mum with you, and I hope peace from this tragedy finds you soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

