Rubbish week (and now the tri becomes a du….)

This week really has been quite rubbish!

I won’t dwell on it too much, but:

  • work re-started on Wednesday (as did all the stress and the late nights in front of spreadsheets)
  • 2 nights this week, I’ve been woken up in the middle of the night, and have had to take care of (and clean up after) puking children
  • basically all my runs have been a struggle and have been cut short, either through lack of time/ childcare or because I was generally feeling pants
  • I have been generally feeling pants quite a lot this week
  • J has been away again, and looking after 3 kids on your own gets a bit knackering after a while (well…. after about 5 minutes or so…)
  • it’s the wrong time of the month (this might actually explain much of the above)
  • I have been very affected, to the point of tears, by the bloody awful stuff going on around the world right now (that I keep seeing in the news). (This might have been exacerbated a little by the above point, but it doesn’t take away from the fact that it is horrendous!)

And now… I’ve just found out that the swimming pool for the triathlon is having maintenance issues, so the triathlon has become a duathlon.

I was scared enough about doing a TRIathlon. I’m absolutely TERRIFIED about doing a duathlon. I’m not a runner!! I’m barely a swimmer, but I’m not a runner. And now, I have to run… and then cycle… and THEN RUN AGAIN!

I’m sitting here feeling like a child having a tantrum: I think I’ll probably come last (especially as the other slow people might all drop out now), and although it shouldn’t matter to me, it’s all about the taking part and all that, it will matter! I hate to admit it, but it will!

Okay… deep breath.

So… what am I ACTUALLY doing right now? I’m training for a marathon. That’s what this blog is all about, isn’t it?

So….. a duathlon will be a neat way of extending my aerobic training, without having to physically run for any longer. Let’s face it, it’s going to take me well over an hour overall. And I can’t RUN for well over an hour… yet. This can be the first step.

Come on, Niki. You can do this.

17 thoughts on “Rubbish week (and now the tri becomes a du….)

    • Really? I used to do lots of tris, but duathlons always seemed to be full of tall, skinny gazelle-like people (which I am definitely not!) so they just look far more scary. But that’s reassuring, thanks! 🙂 I guess the bike is the one thing I definitely have in my legs…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ahhh, Niki, I definitely believe you’ve got this. No worries whatsoever!! Just think of how much energy you’re saving by not swimming… and don’t forget, you have and are going to again run a marathon. This is a piece of cake… you’ve got this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes- I think that’s how I’m trying to look at it now. Firstly, it’s going to be much easier, logistically. Secondly, I have to increase my long runs. So this is a way of increasing the load on my legs when I run. Thirdly… just stop being so silly and enjoy it!!! 😉 thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember my first tri and wishing the swimming had been canceled! Just looking at the lake froze me with terror so bad, I could barely get my kit sorted, but somehow I made it..and you’ll do just fine with the adjustment. Use the first run to warmup, crush the bike, then empty the tank on the last leg, and for a marathon runner the distance wont even come close to bothering you…run stong and kick some arse, then celebrate 🙂 Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep. That’s the irony: that most people dislike the swim most in a triathlon. I imagine lots of people are celebrating a little. It’s often the swim that stops people doing their first tri. For me, I started running because already swam and cycled and wanted to do a tri. But… really… this was only a short (400m) pool swim. In fact, the whole thing is very short. So I really am being a baby and making a fuss over nothing. I think just everything feels a bit daunting right now, as I’m just starting to train again. But it’s the first step, isn’t it? 🙂

      Like

    • ha! 🙂 friend has just said a similar thing on FB 😉 yep. I think I have to just stop thinking about it. It’s a day out! A friend has also messaged to say she’ll come along and cheer me on, too. I was going to have to go alone, so it was feeling a bit depressing. But it’s all looking a bit brighter now! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Funny enough, relentless running is not a thing that scares me. Running for well over an hour is something I do pretty often (on the weeks I have the time.. about 4x) so that wouldn’t scare me (yes, I am slow but steady) .. but a bike… HELL NO. NO FUCKING WAY. I know you can do this, keep your mind to it and you are going to be just fine. You are awesome!!!! PS: I PB’D my 10k mark and ran the whole distance at 5:55 average…. yeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssss!!!!)

    Like

  4. Pingback: Duathlon done. Didn’t come last (quite…) | 11months26miles

Leave a Reply

