Liebster Award (and list)

First, this week’s list. It’s very short this week.

week 11: total miles run = 9   weight = god knows! I’m on holiday. I dread to think. Eeek!!….. Other stuff: not much running, no cycling or swimming. But more yoga than usual, and some R&R. Which was needed.

So…. I’ve actually been nominated for the Liebster award 3 times over the past few of weeks, which is so very lovely. As Jess said in her Liebster post today, you start off writing a blog for yourself really, but then you find out that other people read it…. and that’s just an amazing thing! I’ve learned a huge amount from reading other peoples’ blogs, and from the “discussions” with people who have commented on my posts (and on theirs). But I never got round to actually doing it, as I’d been thinking so much about running and stuff. So big apologies for not doing it before now.

liebster-award

First, Kimberley (getupoffthatcouch) nominated me, but I didn’t notice for ages, even though I’d read the post, because her message went into some weird folder somewhere. Anyway…. I have really been drawn in by her sometimes very raw writing, as she starts her training for a half marathon. I really empathise with her worries and self-doubt, but that means you really celebrate with her when she has a good day.

Then Rebecca (Travel, Running and a Bit of Style) nominated me. This is a sumptuous blog by a runner who uses any spare time to travel the world. What a brilliant combination. She’s currently posting stunning, colourful pics from Peru. She’s also a very supportive and interesting person to “chat” to.

Then, today, Jess nominated me (really not a runner). I was first drawn to Jess’s blog by the descriptions of where she was running. She runs in and around West Yorkshire, which is where I lived for 6 or 7 years (on and off…. degree and PhD). But, again, she is also very honest in her descriptions of the ups and downs of running, which I really appreciate. (She’s also “in Academia”, which is a world I inhabit to a certain extent via husband and friends, although I’ve officially “left” now).

So. I’m answering a combination of their questions. And then I’ll set some at the end.

These are the “rules”:

  • Link back to the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions given to you by the nominator.
  • Nominate up to 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers.
  • Create 11 questions for the nominees.
  • Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

Why did you start your blog? What keeps you blogging?

I’ve entered a marathon for next year. This terrifies me, in terms of the physical challenge and the “juggling” I’ll have to do to train for it. I’m usually someone who obsesses about numbers and figures and totals and tallies. I was trying to get away from that and keep track of the “journey” itself (if that’s not a bit too “X-factor”), and give myself something to look back on.

I’ve kept doing it, first and foremost, because I enjoy the process of reflecting and writing. But I now also enjoy the discovery that there’s a world out there of similar-minded people, and I gain a lot from reading their posts and “talking” to them.

What’s your pet hate

People who whinge, but aren’t prepared to try and do something about it. Yes- have a moan- it can be cathartic… but then move on. If you can’t move on, try and do something about it. Life is too short to stop and wail for no reason (something that was brought home to me fairly early in life by the death of someone with an absolute lust for life. Life can be cruel and unfair sometimes).

What’s your favourite book?

The one that I rememver having a really lasting effect on me was The Bone People by Kerri Hulme.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?

Two bits of advice have stayed with me.

  1. I used to be someone who was very nervous when I met people for the first time. I felt self-conscious, and assumed no one would want to talk to me. I asked a friend, who always seemed so at ease with people, how he did it. He said that people like to talk about themselves. Find something out about them, and ask about it. Simple advice, but it’s stayed with me.
  2. I have talked about how I’m a planner, and how someone told me to stop worrying so much about things that haven’t even happened yet, or I’ll miss things that are happening in the present.

Where is the best place you’ve ever been?

San Pablo in Belize. It was also life-changing.

What one habit do you wish you could break?

Apologising for things that I don’t need to say sorry for, or which aren’t my fault.

What is the best thing you’ve done all week?

Ran the Lanhydrock Parkrun.

What is your biggest fear?

<insert anything here involving loss/ harm and family>

What would your dream job be?

Corny… but… I love my job! I’m a teacher. I enjoy teaching, I work in a great school, and I have lovely colleagues. It’s not all rainbows and sparkly dust, but I feel very lucky overall.

However… as I’m sure most teachers would say, I would like a bit more time to plan and mark work (without impinging on family life) and a bit less admin-type tasks, that just take me away from doing the “good stuff”.

Is it my dream job? I don’t know. I’ve had some pretty awesome experiences before I entered teaching. I used to work at sea, which is a fabulous thing to do. And my PhD had a lot of fun moments. I’ve also done some enjoyable “filler” jobs at various times…. I think you just have to take what you can from whatever it is you’re doing at the time.

Is it something I’ll do forever? Who knows!… never say never… and you really never have any idea what the future has in store…

Which was your favourite subject at school?

Music (I used to study at the Junior Dept of Royal College of Music) and English, probably.

Which is why I’m now teaching Chemistry… er….

What would you like to achieve in your life?

Happiness.

Happy, balanced kids.

Contentment (although I fear that’ll never be something I achieve. I’m someone that’s never satisfied and always trying to work at something….

Security.

So… the tagging thing’s going to be tricky, as the blogs I’ve discovered, and enjoy reading have mostly already been nominated, or have too many followers…. or I’ve tagged them in the Q&A, and I don’t want to bombard people.

So I’m just nominating 2 people.

Never a dull bling has just run the most amazing race ever, and has this incredible zest and energy. I’m sure she has too many followers, or has done this already, but just on the off-chance…

I have just discovered Run Mariona Run and am intrigued by her blog, and love her music posts.

Questions:

  1. How, why and when did you start blogging?
  2. Have you ever had a truly life-changin experience?
  3. Why do you run?
  4. Which teacher had the biggest effect on your life?
  5. Describe a beautiful place that you’ve been to.
  6. What makes you happy?
  7. What irritates you?
  8. Which song will always cheer you up?
  9. Can you play any musical instruments?
  10. Did you enjoy science at school? Why/ why not?
  11. How many languages do you speak?
5 thoughts on “Liebster Award (and list)

Leave a Reply

