Crunch time (and list)

Yet another run on Thursday with the club where someone had to run (more slowly) with me at the back.

Yet another week where I’ve PUT ON weight.

(Yes I know I’m looking slimmer, my clothes are looser, and weight does fluctuate etc etc and it might be muscle…. and all that… but…. I want to lose weight. Actual weight. Not just flab. I don’t (just) want to look better. I have high blood pressure. I want to run a marathon next year. Wearing flattering clothes won’t help either of those things. Losing weight will).

So I’m upping the morning runs. Trying to increase my run mileage in general and, now that I’m no longer at work for the summer, trying to do an extra swim session each week. This has been mostly successful so far.

We ran a good 4-5 miles on Saturday morning (Sophie, Sarah and I). We ran along the Cringleford river, up round the broad, back down Colney Lane. It was a beautiful run. And one of those real sort-out-your-life ones, too.

I also ran to nursery Friday, just to get a couple of miles in my legs. I’ve been doing more yoga to try and prevent my hamstring twinge getting worse. I also managed to do the Tuesday night swim tonight, in addition to Sunday’s swim.

I’m trying to cut out all the crap sugary foods that I snack on if I’m not careful (especially when they’re sat on the table in the coffee room at work!). And I’m increasing my fruit/ veg intake.

Let’s see if we can get this weight to go down…. I had a fasting lipids test today, so that will also be important.

Anyway… list! I missed it last week, so this is a bit overdue…

week 6: total miles run = 12     weight = -2.0kg (!! really?? really??)    other stuff: cycle/ trailer commute, yoga, and Sunday night swim session (sprint set)

week 5: total miles run = 8     weight = -2.5kg     other stuff: cycle/ trailer commute (a bit less than normal, as J did two nursery pick-ups), and Sunday night swim session (sprint set)

week 4: total miles run = 9     weight = -3.5kg     other stuff: cycle/ trailer commute, and Sunday night swim session (sprint set)

week 3: total miles run = 4     weight = -0.5kg     other stuff: Sunday night swim session (sprint set) (very little commuting this week, as I’ve been away, but lots of running up and down stairs with a heavy rucksack at the station)

week 2: total miles run = 9.5     weight = -1.5kg     other stuff: cycle/ trailer commute, some yoga and Sunday night swim session (sprint set)

week 1: total miles run = 9.5     weight = -1.5kg    other stuff: cycle/ trailer commute, some yoga and Sunday night swim session (sprint set)

Leave a Reply

