Blood Pressure

My weight seems to be yo-yo-ing right now. Probably partly due to a night of wine and chocolate, following a barbecue, on Friday!

But one definite positive change I’m seeing is in my blood pressure.

My BP went up during all 3 pregnancies. Each time I ended up on medication. Each time, I came off the medication eventually. This time, I’m still on the meds, and M is already nearly 2 years old.

Lately, my BP has been lower. It’s regularly <120 and <80, and usually heading towards 70.

I just have to make sure it stays like that the next time I’m at the doctor. I suffer from really terible “white coat syndrome”.

But, the fact is, I just have to decrease it by enough that it’s still low, even when I’m sat in the doctor’s room.

It’s obviously the running that’s lowering my BP. I commented to J last night that, although I have to swim and cycle just to stay alive, it’s the running that actually makes a difference and makes me fitter. Which is a shame, because it’s the one I enjoy least! But, I do enjoy the effect it has on me. And, as J said, now that I have groups of friends to run with (the club on a Thursday, my band of giggling mum-friends), it all becomes much more enjoyable.

One thought on “Blood Pressure

  1. TheUberbook.com is building a ‘weight’ gallery I have recommended this post. Check out the LIFE STUFF galleries, request an add via the WRITERS sign up page if you’d like this post to be on there. You get my vote although I don’t have a say on whether you are eventually added.
    Mike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

